Froggy’s words (part 2)

this is the second part of a two part series of posts Froggy made on her blog.  the original can be found here.  my translation of the first part is here and the original (in French) is here

i’ll reiterate what i said in the first post:  i am complete noob when it comes to translating from French to English, so my words are clunky compared to my wife’s.  i have tried to do them justice, though.  (and if any of you bilinguals out there want to correct my mistakes or give suggestions for alternate translations, please please do!  in most cases of confusion, i got Froggy to explain her meaning to me, so some translations will be less direct than others.)

once again, i give you my lovely Froggy:

La douleur pour tous/Pain for all(part 1 of 2)

The question of the child, the sensitive nerve.
The children will be perverted, maladjusted, condemned to become themselves homosexuals.  No mention of the dozens of serious, reputed studies which prove that the children of gay families are absolutely similar to if not better adjusted than those of straight families.  This also makes the assumption that we ourselves, we gay parents, would already be considered maladjusted and perverted. Back to square one.

We have to acknowledge that the only people filling the prisons and mental hospitals are the children of gays and/or gay couples guilty of abusing children, of child molestation, etc.  Not one straight person, just queers.  Children of straight people are ALL so well-adjusted.  Sounds stupid? Not any more so than the opposite.

And then there’s “ze slogan”: One mommy, one daddy, don’t lie to your children.

Who besides you is talking about lying to them? Project much?

Being on the receiving end of all this violence, this injustice, these lies, this hate, when we undeserving gay parents had just lost our little shooting star who was so very wanted, who we might have perverted with so much impure love, it was just more incomprehensible pain to overcome.  I wish I could have testified about what it means for us, not just to have lost our child, but also to have to fight only a daily basis to be recognized as parents.

How would heterosexual couples feel if none of the fathers had any legal existence as far as their children were concerned.  If at any moment they could no longer be allowed to see their child and have nothing to say about it.  Without any kind of legal recourse.  How would they feel if they were in our shoes? 

Watching those marches against gay marriage, I asked myself why anyone would even want to take a child to those demonstrations where there’s nothing but hate, discrimination, toeing the party line, lies and ignorance.  And all that Christian charity and that love for one’s fellow man is discarded and replaced by blind ignorance and hatred for the other person who is different from them.  I just hope that none of those children who are compelled to participate in those protests are gay.

It’s also striking to see all similarties between these anti-gay speeches from 2013 and the speeches made by the opponents of interacial marriage in the USA in the 1960s.

The same arguments.  The same bullshit.  50 years later.  Half a century. Appalling.

I also realized that,  for what’s certainly the first time in my life, I was seeing rallies that weren’t comprised of a unified majority protesting a right being taken away by the government, rather a small minority of people were protesting  against *giving* a right to another minority.   a right that would have absolutely no effect on those protesters’  lives.

No, I had never seen that before.  I would never even have imagined seeing it. 
In the end, why do they even care?  What does it take away from them?

If my wife and I get married, in what way would that affect my neighbor’s life or the life of my co-worker?  How do we, my wife, my little sun and I constitute a threat for anyone?

In what way is our happiness so reprehensible?
Why are you imposing that extra bit of suffering on us?
My pain and sorrow are, despite everything, the same as yours.

These are open letters to Christine Boutin from Emmanuelle Schick Garcia, here and here . (both links are entirely en français)

5 thoughts on “Froggy’s words (part 2)

  1. March is for daffodils

    I was horrified to see the coverage of the protests on tv here (in Canada). The protesters looked so angry and mean and there were so many more of them than I would’ve thought. I don’t understand why they care either.

    The other day I met with some people from the support group I attended for a while and one of them was talking about adoption. It is very difficult to adopt a child right now here, but two of the parents were saying that lately birth moms have been requesting gay couples to adopt their children, that it has become a noticeable trend and that gay couples are able to adopt more quickly right now than straight couples. Would be interesting to know more…

    I wish no one cared who loves whom, who sleeps with whom, who has children with whom. I don’t know why it matters.

    Reply
    1. le petit soleil Post author

      how interesting about birth mothers requesting gay couples. i wonder if it’s something trendy.
      and i am completely with you on not understanding why any of those things matter. i am such a live and let live person, and i can’t understand why we can’t all be that way.

      Reply
  2. CAM

    Responding back from ICLW — what an interesting read that was. I will need to read more of your blog to get caught up, but I hope and pray for the best for you and wife. I do think this is something we, as a world, will get past (I hope!).

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Froggy’s words (part 1) | following my sun

Leave a Reply

